Things

Things I can’t replace:

  • My cat
  • My rat
  • Photographs
  • UK citizenship papers, legal documents, US passport
  • My mother’s things
  • My old computer with things I’ve written on the hard drive
  • My current computer
  • Old journals
  • My two autographed posters
  • The afghan blanket I’ve had since I was 11 (and sleep with every night)

Things I want in my possession:

  • My car (I’ll never be able to buy another)
  • My music collection
  • At least some of my books (I’m willing to part with most)
  • My games (I don’t have many)
  • The painting I bought at the thrift store
  • The Margaret Keane print
  • My five nesting dolls
  • My clock shaped like a jester’s hat
  • The teddy bear my mother gave me
  • My guitar
  • The viola (worth some money, but gift from my mother and…I love it)
  • My jewelry box (and a few pieces of jewelry)
  • My denim suit for job interviews
  • Rat cage
  • Cat food and water bowls
  • Litter box
  • Vacuum cleaner
  • My sofa (because I don’t know when I can get another)
  • Random knickknacks that make my place home
  • My workout DVDs (again, don’t know when I can replace them. I’m still at a stage where my priorities are less than logical)
  • At least one table setting and a pot or pan.
  • A coffee mug or two

Things I can live without:

  • Bookshelves
  • My television
  • My bed
  • My desk
  • My cheap, broken-down coffee table and matching end tables
  • My lamps
  • My VCR
  • My DVD player

Things I need:

  • Food
  • Shelter
  • Clothing
  • Shoes
  • Some companionship
  • My computer
  • A place for my pets

Share

5 Comments

Filed under Home Life, Materialism

5 responses to “Things

  1. Have you tried a rummage sale for all the stuff you can live without?? You might be able to raise enough money to hold you over for awhile.

    • Zoe

      I’ve had two yard sales in the past month. I’ve made about $55 total. People wouldn’t buy anything, no matter how low I priced it. Turnout was bad both times, too. I’ve also sold things online for about $50 (including the cost I had to pay for shipping the four or so items). I have had $140 taken out of my bank account in fees. I’ll try to have a sale on Saturday mostly because I can’t afford to move my things.

  2. Oh, your advice is very much appreciated! Sometimes I get a little…defeated I guess. I will be selling more things over the next week or so.

    P.S. Your blog is great! I haven’t read too deep into it yet, but I’ll check it out more tonight.

Leave a Reply

